Why I Love Thrifting

What is your go-to store? Where do you shop most? How do you find all these cute clothes?

Simple Answer: Thrift Stores, resales, or rummage sales.

I like clothes and fashion {It’s a fact} , and I have a lot of it! But I find that I don’t spend more than $20 a month on adding to my closet. Back in middle school, being my cool, care-free self, I would spend $20 just on a pair of jeans or a cute top, but now I see that as a complete wast of money. Why?

Here are a few reasons why I don’t like shopping at normal clothing stores:

  1. I can find it for much cheaper
  2. It isn’t worth the money  ~  most times
  3. The quality is poor {Relates to above statement}
  4. It supports low-wage labor  ~  in countries such as China

To compromise from my old shopping sprees, I took up the art of thrifting!! Yes, I know, your first reaction was probably a disgusted face due to the old, musty smells of these stores. And I’ll admit, they do sometimes have unattractive odors, but I have learned to ignore it {and you will too!}.

Thrift shopping is much harder than shopping at H&M and Forever 21 where you walk in and immediately find something intriguing that you must have. It’s normally quite the opposite in a thrift store, but you simply have to learn how to look, search, and dig.

 

h_and_m_store_by_seiklus-d4ivn7j

 

 

Taking a half hour to skim through the sweater aisle, shirt section, or skirts, you may find a name-brand item or style that you like. However, it is important that you look at the quality and original value of the item and compare, asking yourself if it is worth the marked price.

Despite the low quality clothing that may be found at thrift stores, there is such a large selection to look through that it is impossible not to find at least one thing that strikes your interest.

Most of my wardrobe {probably 75% of it} is from resale, thrift store or rummage sales and it makes me happy to think about that! Especially looking at the things I have found and priding myself in the money I saved.

Thrift shoppring can be turned into a fun outing with friends, without blowing a bunch of money. Heck, you don’t even need to buy anything! Just seeing the unique and interesting things at these stores is mesmerizing in its own way.

 

My Thrift Store Finds of the Month:

 

image

Sperry’s – $4

 

 

Street Level Hand Bag (leather) – $5

 

 

 

image

Chooka Rubber Boots – $7

These items are just a few of the many things you can find at thrift, resale, or used clothing stores. Besides the fact that they are lightly used, they are very affordable and worth the price. So next time you decide you are in need of a new wardrobe, check out your local Goodwill or consignment shop to save money and gain quality!

Happy Thrifting!!

~ ℜachel

Leave a Reply

