Starting Summer with the Right Attitude

I don’t know if it’s just me, but it happens every year.

May ends up being an overly stressful month with the final stretch of school underway and the prospect of summer looming just beyond my reach.

I go from late night study sessions, spring music concerts and end-of-the-year banquets to literally nothing. To make things worse, this year, of course, was different from all others because I had double the events to attend and a summer lacking much travel plans (unlike 2016).

What normally happens is I go from a stressed out and anxious lifestyle to one that doesn’t care about anything, aka Rachel stuck in her room all day drooling over a perfect Instagram account, adding a hundred new Pins to her board or mindlessly scrolling through her FB newsfeed. I dread this awkward transition into summer because for once I don’t really have anything to work towards and end up feeling bad for myself. The low self-esteem I easily get caught in while allowing uselessness to take over my life is difficult to push away and tends to absorb my attitude, making summer somewhat unenjoyable.

It makes me sad thinking about it; summer is supposed to be fun and I always end up hating it because I have nothing to work towards. No goals to accomplish, schoolwork set before me or mandatory time in the classroom.

It was a similar start this year: my first week on break consisted of me sitting around in my house, talking to no one and absorbing the temptations of social media and Netflix that I resisted during the school year.

In the moment, I knew it needed to stop. I just didn’t know how.

Thanks to my uber motivating sister who happened to be around in the midst of my apathetic boredom, I was forced to gain control of my mentality and change the way summer was heading. It’s crazy how watching someone else be persistent and on top of things makes you follow and attempt to do the same!

I started by creating a list ofย  basic things I needed to complete on a daily basis. (Notice that I saidย basic, not far-fetched ambitions that make me feel hopeless.) I then started off the week with tasks that I could complete in my free-time, making me fill in the spaces around my work schedule and have daily objectives to meet. As long as I stayed busy in working towards my target for the day, I held a positive and encouraged attitude.

Note: Be on the lookout for a future article on daily motivation, To Do lists and managing the basics of life!

Although I am in a totally different mode during the summer, it was and is important that I maintain an upright mentality. Instead of focusing on what I could be doing and wasting away precious minutes of each day, I realize the need for awareness of God’s plan for me on a daily basis. This means waking up each morning, seeing the prospects of a Christ-filled day and freely soaking in the trials, moments and lessons God wants me to experience. The place I am in now was specially designed for a reason, so it is my job to accept this plan of God’s through a lens of acceptance and joy.

It might not include my passport and a string of newly added destination pins to my map, but what this summer does include are personal benefits – God given provisions that are only seen with open mindedness and careful evaluation of my life.

So here’s the challenge (to myself and others):

Make each day worth something – it is in God’s eyes.

Don’t aimlessly waste time on the deceiving distractions the world places around us. Instead, make time for personal growth and allow God to work in your life through these small, yet powerful stepping stones of faith.

 

{Colossians 3:23}

Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men

 

{1 Corinthians 15: 58}

Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.

 

{Romans 12:11}

Do not be slothful in zeal, be fervent in spirit, serve the Lord.

 

Sincerely Yours,

Rachel Anne

Leave a Reply

